Skip to content
Home page
Home » Grant Programs » Mighty Ducks Grant Program

James Metzen Mighty Ducks Grant Program

2016 Awards Information

The Board of Directors of the Minnesota Amateur Sports Commission awarded 29 grants in the total amount of $2,834,000 at their board meeting on November 16.


If you have any questions, please contact Mark Erickson by email or at 763.785.5662.

Honoring Senator James Metzen

The 2016 Minnesota Legislature appropriated $10 million to the James Metzen Mighty Ducks Ice Arena Grant Program, five times larger than the previous year. The program was renamed to honor Minnesota State Senator James Metzen, who was a tireless supporter of youth hockey and ice sports in Minnesota. He was also instrumental in creating the original grant program in 1995. Senator Metzen, from South St. Paul, retired following the 2016 session after serving for over 40 years in the legislature. He passed away in July 2016.

The appropriation was made to specifically fund projects that eliminate the use of R-22 refrigerant or improve indoor air quality in ice arenas. The program will not fund projects for new ice arenas this year.

Mighty Ducks History

The Mighty Ducks grant program was created in 1995 to help Minnesota communities provide equal ice time to newly developing girls' hockey programs as well as improve the condition of Minnesota ice arenas. This program granted over $18 million from 1995 to 2000. It produced 61 new sheets of ice in Minnesota.

The grant program is authorized by Minnesota Statute 240A.09.

2015 Awards

Steele CountyFour Seasons Centre  $12,988
City of KassonDodge County Ice Arena$100,000
City of La CrescentCommunity Arena  $30,293
City of New PragueCommunity Center    $3,468
City of ShakopeeNew Ice Arena$192,645
City of FarmingtonSchmitz-Maki Arena  $50,000
City of StillwaterSt. Croix Valley Rec Center  $58,606
City of St. Louis ParkRecreation Center$400,000
Hennepin CountyAugsburg Ice Arena$400,000
STMA Ice Arena BoardSTMA Ice Arena$250,000
Lake of the Woods CountyBaudette Area Arena$400,000
City of LitchfieldCivic Arena  $50,000
City of Silver BayRukavina Arena  $72,000
City of Grand RapidsIRA Civic Arena$135,000
Pine City Schools ISD #578Pine City Civic Center  $45,000

2014 Awards

City of AustinRiverside Ice Arena$150,000
City of WinonaBud King Ice Arena$150,000
City of West St. PaulJohn V. Hoene Arena$200,000
City of ChamplinIce Forum  $32,925
City of New HopeNew Hope Ice Arena  $98,700
Dassel-Cokato ISD #466Dassel-Cokato Ice Arena$200,000
City of SartellBernick's Pepsi Arena$100,000
City of East Grand ForksCivic Center$148,375
Kittson Central ISD #2171Hallock Arena$200,000
City of International FallsKerry Park  $20,000

2016 Application Materials



 Sample Resolution